News / Media
  • Home

Juniors Brierley, Rudd and Riordan taste that winning feeling in Yamaha AORC

Round 7 of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) kicked off today as the talented Junior competitors geared up for another critical battle for championship points at Renmark, SA. Plenty of spectators stood by to watch the Juniors take off from the Riverland Junior Motorcycle Club’s motocross track into the enduro sections for the nine lap cross country race.

The Juniors aced the dusty terrain and showed off the top notch Off-Road calibre that we have come to expect from the J4, J3 and J2 classes. Juniors that excelled and won for their respective classes were Joshua Brierley, Jayden Rudd and Wil Riordan.

In J4 it would once again be Josuhua Brierley on his Husqvarna machine to display his incredible talents to win the cross-country race. This race adds another win to the undefeated streak for Brierley in 2017. Brierley finished with a compiled time of 1:54:09.396. Up next was motocross star Mason Semmens, who made a very impressive return to AORC competition. Semmens lead briefly after a Brierley pit stop but his pace wasn’t quite enough to challenge the J4 Championship leader. Semmens total cross-country time amounted to a 1:54:39.113, he also set the fastest lap time of the race. In third was last year’s J3 Champion Corey Hammond. The KTM mounted rider managed to finish with a total accumulated time of 1:55:45.321.

The home crowd was treated to a sensational win for Jayden Rudd in the J3 class. KTM rider Rudd had significant pressure on him to win at his home race, but the expectation didn’t faze the 15 year old as he dominated his class. Rudd finished with an impressive compiled time of 2:04:33.088. Finishing behind Rudd was Ned Chapman on his Yamaha. Chapman fought hard to register a time of 2:05:17.868. Rounding up the podium positions was Charlie Milton, also a Yamaha Rider. Milton managed the conditions well to attain a podium position with his time of 1:54:27.903 to complete the cross-country.

Wil Riordan was the standout rider for the J2’s and finished first for his class. Young Riordan is emerging as a young rising star in the Off-Road scene. With Riordan and Kyron Bacon in close points proximately in the championship, the victory will be handy indeed. Second position belonged to Kyron Bacon who took 1:55:00.536 to finish the cross-country. To complete the podium would be fellow brother Gus Riordan, his total time was a 1:57:04.097.

Keep an eye out for tomorrows results as the Juniors switch to the sprint format for tomorrow’s proceedings.

Provisional Results J4
1. Josuhua Brierley – 1:54:09.396
2. Mason Semmens – 1:54:39.113
3. Corey Hammond – 1:55:45.321
4. Mitchell Brierley – 1:56:21.634
5. Connor Adams – 2:00:13.101
6. Nathan Howe – 2:03:08.343
7. Colby Mccall – 10:22.890
8. Riley Nancarrow – 10:37.114
9. Connor Gee – 10:47.746
10.Jayden Watkins – 1 Lap

Provisional Results J3
1. Jayden Rudd – 2:04:33.088
2. Ned Chapman – 2:05:17.868
3. Charlie Milton – 1:54:27.903
4. Matthew Pye – 1:54:59.245
5. Cody Short – 1:58:27.365
6. Jared Watson – 2:00:53.293
7. Max Price – 2:01:40.920
8. Mackyle Thomson – 2:04:55.194
9. Mitchell McLean – 2:05:43.868
10.Dustin Doolan – 2:06:05.480

Provisional Results J2
1. Will Riordan – 1:54:51.275
2. Kyron Bacon – 1:55:00.536
3. Gus Riordan – 1:57:04.097
4. Mackenzie Johnson – 1:59:28.062
5. Jack Bithell – 2:06:15.619
6. Harry Newbold – 2:07:50.623
7. Jasper Franklin – 2:11:10.413
8. Maxwell Liebeknecht – 1:54:59.625
9. Tyler Heidenreich – 1:55:52.843
10. Jordan Simpson – 1:56:37.963

Keep up with the Yamaha AORC action by visiting including news and reports on the AORC website at, following the Facebook@aorc on Instagram and don’t forget to add ‘motorcyclingaus’ on Snapchat. Stay tuned to see which riders come out on top!

Directions to the Renmark tracks can be accessed by clicking here.

Stay up to date with all the happenings of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the AORC website at or by following the AORC on Twitter and Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram.

Download the MYLAPS app to view live results

This is the link for the Entry List for Rounds 7 & 8

Don’t forget to check out the AORC’s website at

Remaining Rounds of the 2017 Yamaha AORC
Round 7 & 8: Renmark, SA    24 – 25 June 2017
Round 9 & 10: Kyogle, NSW 22 – 23 July 2017
Round 11 & 12: Omeo, VIC    5 – 6 August 2017

Photos courtesy of John Pearson Media: Jayden Rudd and Josuhua Brierley at Renmark 2017.