News / Media
  • Home

Milner, Sanders and Driscoll Complete Perfect Seasons here at Omeo   

The sun was beaming down on the field here at Omeo, Victoria for Round 11 of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC). Track conditions were tough for the final round of the championship, and it would be Daniel Milner (E3), Daniel Sanders (E2), Luke Styke (E1) and Michael Driscoll (EJ) who took out class victories.

Its been a familiar sight this season for the four riders mentioned above and they were at it again after clinching their class titles in yesterdays cross country. Any thought of them taking their foot off the pedal was quickly put to bed as they took the early ascendancy in their classes.

Milner was simply on another level in the E3 class on his KTM, he stopped the clock at 43:39.063 after completing five laps. Milner set the pace with his first test time and then simply didn’t look back on his way to the chequered flag. The win was number eleven for Milner meaning he had completed the perfect E3 season.

Finishing behind Milner aboard his Husqvarna was Lachlan Stanford, who completed the five laps with a time of 45:21.996. Stanford continued his consistent season and even tried a few new things today, as one of the only riders clearing the double, he still couldn’t find the speed of Milner.

Rounding out the podium in the E3 class was Andrew Wilksch on his Sherco, who made a welcome return to the podium after missing out yesterday. His time of 46:39.716 was a solid finish to the season.

AORC Round 11 E3 Provisional Results

  1. Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Off-Road Team) 43:39.063
  2. Lachlan Stanford (Husqvarna Enduro Off-Road Team) 45:21.996
  3. Andrew Wilksch (Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team) 46:39.716
  4. Broc Grabham 46:49.938
  5. Jesse Lawton 1:04:43.551

Completing the perfect season in the E2 class was Sanders aboard his Husqvarna, as he once again led the way. Sanders got off to a great start in the first test and continued to push throughout the day despite the track deteriorating. The win shows the decision to come home from Enduro GP was the correct one, as he brings home the title to Husqvarna with a time of 43:58.038.

The battle for second place in the E2 class was an enthralling battle between KTM’s Lyndon Snodgrass and Yamaha’s Josh Green. It would come down to the fifth and final test as the pair could hardly be separated throughout the day, but it would be Snodgrass who got the nod with his time of 44:50.785.

The ever reliable Green would have to settle for third place with his effort of 44:57.112. Green was one of the only riders throughout the day who looked in control through the rough conditions, and ended his season on the podium.

AORC Round 11 E2 Provisional Results

  1. Daniel Sanders (Husqvarna Enduro Off-Road Team) 43:58.038
  2. Lyndon Snodgrass (KTM Enduro Off-Road Team) 44:50.785
  3. Joshua Green (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube) 44:57.112
  4. Wil Ruprecht (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube) 46:07.731
  5. Stefan Granquist 46:26.541

What a year it has been for Styke after making the cross from motocross to off-roads, Styke has looked completely at home picking up the E1 title yesterday. He was at it again today, not letting off and taking another win to make it nine wins this season. He ended his five laps with a time of 45:13.762.

Finishing behind Styke was Fraser Higlett aboard his Husqvarna, who has shown great improvement during his first season in the E1 class. Higlett ended his season with a time of 45:35.297 to end a great first season in E1.

Rounding out the podium was Jack Simpson on his KTM who ended today’s sprints with a time of 45:50.445. It was a good end to a bit of an indifferent season for Simpson, look for him to take this form into season 2019.

AORC Round 11 E1 Provisional Results

  1. Luke Styke (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube) 45:13.762
  2. Fraser Higlett (Husqvarna Enduro Off-Road Team) 45:35.297
  3. Jack Simpson 45:50.445
  4. Jeremy Carpentier (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off-Road Team) 45:52.203
  5. Brad Hardaker 48:03.253

The 2018 EJ champion was at it once again, Driscoll took out his eleventh win of the season to complete the perfect EJ season. Driscoll set the tone on his Yamaha from the first test of the day, getting out of the blocks with a sensational first test, he ended the day with a time of 45:28.371. .

Grabbing second place in today’s sprints was Husqvarna’s Joshua Brierley who bounced back from his third place in yesterday cross country. His time of 47:07.077 handed him a well earned second place, and a fine finish to his first senior season.

Capping of his cameo appearance here at the AORC, motocross prodigy Mason Semmens grabbed third place to make it two podiums for the weekend.  His time of 47:22.062.

AORC Round 11 EJ Provisional Results

  1. Michael Drsicoll (bLU cRu Off-Road Team) 45:28.371
  2. Joshua Brierley 47:07.077
  3. Mason Semmens 47:22.062
  4. Mitchell Brierley 48:03.800
  5. Corey Hammond 48:10.602

Stay up to date with all the happenings from 2018 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship and keep your eyes peeled for exciting 2019 announcements by visiting the brand new AORC website at by following the AORC on Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram. Don’t forget to download the brand new AORC App via Team App*.

Photos courtesy of John Pearson Media