News / Media
  • Home

Wilson, Hutton and Grundy put in Mega Performances for Yamaha AORC

The Womens, Vets and Masters classes put on a riveting display around Kyogle for Round 10 of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC). Eight tests were conducted over the course of day to determine the placings. The three standouts for these classes were Jemma Wilson, Kirk Hutton and Derek Grundy, to demonstrate top-notch skill and commitment around the tracks. The AORC also had its first champion in 2017 crowned, after Grundy scored enough points to claim the title!

With Yamaha rider Jemma Wilson once again claiming a victory for Round 9, there was a significant amount of expectation to see if she could claim yet another win. Wilson managed to take the victory with a total time of 1:02:58.653. Finishing behind Wilson was Emelie Karlsson on a Yamaha with her time of 1:04:03.203. Just over a minute would separate the two. Despite missing out on the win, Yamaha rider Sophie Coldicutt managed to salvage a podium result with her third place. Her time of 1:04:36.107 was a further 33 seconds behind Karlsson.

In the Veterans, the legendary ‘King’ Kirk Hutton would be the eventual victor, with a total elapsed time of 58:12.030 and his pace in the seventh test was spectacular. Hutton on his Yamaha was well ahead of his closest challenger in Damian Smith. Smith in second placed a further 41 seconds behind with his total Enduro time of 58:53.560. Brad Wilkinson was the final podium placer in third place. Wilkinson registered a total time of 1:03:01.661, over four minutes behind Smith.

DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team’s Derek Grundy put in a sensational ride to win the Masters class championship, with two rounds remaining! Grundy was visibly excited to finally get that well deserved championship. As an assistant team manager to the Sherco team, it certainly meant a lot for Grundy to deliver the title to his crew. Grundy took a total time of 1:03:07.284 to complete the Enduro. Up next in second position was Craig Treasure on his Husqvarna machine. Treasure finished more than two and a half minutes behind Grundy with his time of 1:05:48.274. The final Masters competitor on the podium was Brett Kenny, approximately 66 seconds behind, with his time of 1:06:54.631.

Provisional Results Womens
1. Jemma Wilson – 1:02:58.653
2. Emelie Karlsson – 1:04:03.203
3. Sophie Coldicutt – 1:04:36.107
4. Tegan Hall – 1:07:57.322
5. Courney Rubie – 1:10:37.246
6. Kate Norman – 1:32:15.894

Provisional Results Vets
1. Kirk Hutton – 58:12.030
2. Damian Smith – 58:53.560
3. Brad Wilkinson – 1:03:01.661
4. Jason Pearce – 1:04:29.117
5. Sean Smith – 1:07:47.427
6. Hugh Howarth – 1:07:57.239
7. Russel French – 1:08:32.645
8. Luke Vanderdrift – 1:09:56.627
9. Kyronne Treasure – 1:12:54.606
10. Evan Cristensen – 1:13:15.769

Provisional Results Masters
1. Derek Grundy (DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team) – 1:03:07.284
2. Craig Treasure – 1:05:48.274
3. Brett Kenny – 1:06:54.631
4. Robert Bailey 1:07:34.710
5. Michael Widdison – 1:08:09:908
6. Michael Turner – 1:08:11.854
7. Mick Collins – 1:08:24.760
8. David Pratten – 1:09:22.610
9. Dave Thompson – 1:11:09.363
10. Mick Cram – 1:11:16.464

Stay up to date with all the happenings of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the AORC website at or by following the AORC on Twitter and Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram.

Remaining Rounds of 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship Calendar 

Round 11 & 12: Omeo, VIC                     5 – 6 August 2017

Photo courtesy of John Pearson Media:
Derek Grundy and Dave Suter celebrating the win