News / Media
  • Home

Wilson, Hutton, Grundy Show Enduro Prowess at Yamaha AORC

The Womens, Vets and Masters classes put on an epic display around the technical Kyogle tracks. These three classes joined the seniors on track for the Enduro format. The three standouts for these classes were Jemma Wilson, Kirk Hutton and Derek Grundy, who all recorded wins.

Saturday’s racing provided mixed results for the Womens class, when Yamaha mounted rider Jemma Wilson managed to take a well deserving win. The victory greatly assists Wilson in solidifying her championship lead. Her total time was a 1:07:29.878. Sophie Coldicutt finished more than four minutes behind Wilson. Coldicutt on a Yamaha recorded a time of 1:12:12.876. Tegan Hall rose to the challenge snagging a third place finish on her KTM, a further half a minute behind.

The Veterans class is packed with Australian Enduro royalty and champions, as it exclusively exists of 35-45 year-olds. Veteran King Kirk Hutton on his Yamaha picked up where he left off by taking a win. The AORC statesman Hutton had an accumulated time of 1:03:41.610. Damian Smith can be extremely proud of his time of 1:04:05.289, a further 24 seconds behind Hutton. Brad Wilkinson has put himself in a solid position for the remainder of the weekend with a third place finish. Wilkinson’s total time was a 1:10:01.513, close to six minutes behind Smith.

In the Masters class (45 years and over), the competitors provided some of the most invigorating racing in AORC. Class leader Derek Grundy of the DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team took the win. It only took Grundy a total time of 1:06:45.455 to traverse the Enduro course. In second place was Michael Widdison on his KTM Machine. Widdison finished just over four minutes behind the race winner with his time of 1:11:00.885. The final podium place getter was Craig Treasure on his Husqvarna machine. Treasure finished only 35 seconds behind his rival with his time of 1:11:36.233.

Provisional Results Womens
1. Jemma Wilson – 1:07:29.878
2. Sophie Coldicutt – 1:12:12.876
3. Tegan Hall – 1:12:41.463
4. Emelie Karlsson – 1:17:28.958
5. Courtney Rubie – 1:19:23.716
6. Kate Norman – 3:20:19.885
7. Tamara Gray – 2:40:08.698

Provisional Results Vets
1. Kirk Hutton – 1:03:41.610
2. Damian Smith – 1:04:05.289
3. Brad Wilkinson – 1:10:01.513
4. Jason Pearce – 1:10:41.809
5. Sean Smith – 1:13:22.866
6. Luke Vanderdrift – 1:14:21.054
7. Hugh Howarth – 1:14:59.280
8. Russell French – 1:15:03.096
9. Dave Jongebloed – 1:16:56.057
10. Kyronne Treasure – 1:17:06.288

Provisional Results Masters
1. Derek Grundy (DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team) – 1:06:45.455
2. Michael Widdison – 1:11:00.885
3. Craig Treasure – 1:11:36.233
4. Robert Bailey – 1:13:14.010
5. Brett Kenny – 1:15:00.448
6. Michael Turner – 1:15:34.105
7. Steve Sherwood – 1:19:02.336
8. Paul Baericke – 1:19.22.451
9. Dave Thompson – 1:19:52.157
10. Mark Cram – 1:20:21.497

Keep up with the Yamaha AORC action by visiting including news and reports on the AORC website at, following the Facebook@aorc on Instagram and don’t forget to add ‘motorcyclingaus’ on Snapchat. Stay tuned to see which riders come out on top.

Stay up to date with all the happenings of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the AORC website at or by following the AORC on Twitter and Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram.

This is the link for the Entry List for Rounds 9 & 10
Don’t forget to check out the AORC’s website at

Remaining Rounds of 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship Calendar 

Round 9 & 10: Kyogle, NSW                   22 – 23 July 2017
Round 11 & 12: Omeo, VIC                     5 – 6 August 2017

Photo courtesy of John Pearson Media: Kirk Hutton at Kyogle.