News / Media
  • Home

Womens, Vets and Masters Titles All Wrapped Up for AORC

As the Womens, Vets and Masters engaged in the final Sprint Race for the 2017 Australian Off-Road Championship season, it would be Wilson, Murray and Grundy to come out on top for their respective classes. As the season drew to a close, only the Womens class was yet to be decided on Sunday and that honour would go to Jemma Wilson, after she won today’s sprint race.

After suffering an unfortunate fall on Saturday which delayed Jemma Wilson’s championship win, she finally got the title today after an impressive victory. Wilson took only 40:31.538 to finish the race. Coming in second would be Emelie Karlsson on her Yamaha. Karlsson finished 75 seconds behind Wilson. The final podium placer was Tasmanian Sophie Coldicutt, also Yamaha Mounted. Only five seconds separated Karlsson and Coldicutt for the final podium position. Wilson managed to take the championship with a 25 points buffer to Karlsson.

Championship Positions:
1. Jemma Wilson – 234
2. Emelie Karlsson – 209
3. Sophie Coldicutt – 208

The Vets are a class reserved for 35 years and over and machines may be of any capacity. Victory for the Vets belonged to long time competitor David Murray, to go back to back this weekend. Murray finished in front of recent title winner Jason Pearce with his total elapsed time of 49:15.560. Pearce finished in second position, he had an accumulated time of 51:53.041, 157 seconds behind Murray. Coming in third would be Lou Stylianou, taking 53:49.927 to finish. Stylianou trailed Pearce by a further 2 minutes. Pearce managed to take the Vets title with a commanding 42 point lead.

Championship Positions:
1. Jason Pearce – 154
2. Trevor Duncan – 112
3. Kirk Hutton – 100

The Masters class, often reserved for legends of the sport, was won by Derek Grundy once again, as part of the DSR Motul/Pirelli Sherco Off Road Racing Team. The Sherco rider finished well ahead of his closest challenger in Craig Treasure on his Husqvarna. Grundy smashed the competition with his time of 41:02.267. Treasure accumulated an overall lap time of 43:24.317, more than two minutes behind Grundy. Husqvarna mounted Peter Schaper, fought his way to third place with his overall time of 43:45.249. The battle between Treasure and Schaper was a much closer affair, only 20 seconds separating the two. Grundy who wrapped up the title back at Kyogle (NSW) won by a sizeable 78 points.

Congratulations to championship winners Jemma Wilson, Jason Pearce and Derek Grundy!

Championship Positions:
1. Derek Grundy – 247
2. Craig Treasure – 169
3. Michael Widdison – 122

Provisional Results Womens
1. Jemma Wilson – 40:31.538
2. Emelie Karlsson – 41:46.669
3. Sophie Coldicutt – 41:51.579
4. Tegan Hall – 43:57.886
5. Cheyenne Jones – 48:59.829
6. Angela Scott – 51:54.329
7. Stacey Thompson – 54:15.397
8. Rachelle Dessent – 55:01.258

Provisional Results Vets
1. David Murray – 49:15.560
2. Jason Pearce – 51:53.041
3. Lou Stylianou -53:49.927
4. Jamie Richardson – 55:43.286
5. Trevor Duncan – 57:18.012

Provisional Results Masters
1. Derek Grundy (DSR Motul/Pirelli Sherco Off Road Racing Team) – 41:02.267
2. Craig Treasure – 43:24.317
3. Peter Schaper – 43:45.249
4. Ray Scott – 44:14.137
5. Rob Mystek – 44:31.115
6. David Salt – 44:31.816
7. Michael Burke – 44:35.596
8. Andrew Bespalov – 44:49.390
9. Ken Burt – 45:00.949
10. Raymond Thorp – 45:34.980

Download the MYLAPS app view results

Don’t forget to check out the AORC’s website at

Stay up to date with all the happenings of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the AORC website at or by following the AORC on Twitter and Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram.

Photos courtesy of John Pearson Media: Jemma Wilson and Derek Grundy at Omeo