News / Media
  • Home

Yamaha AORC Supplementary Regulations and Class Breakdown for Season 2018

Motorcycling Australia (MA) is pleased to announce the release of the Official Supplementary Regulations ahead of the exciting 2018 Yamaha Australian Off Road Championship (AORC).

On the back of what was a successful season in 2017, the 2018 AORC season is set to be bigger and better again with an amendment to classes from last season.

In 2018 the EJ class eligibility has changed slightly with riders having to be 18 years of age or under on 1 January to compete.

AORC will also see for the first time the inclusion of support classes at certain rounds in 2018. The three support classes will be the 125 Amateur Cup (125cc 2-Stroke, Rounds 5 & 6 and 10 & 11), Pony Express (All Powers, Rounds 7 and 10 & 11) and Vintage (Evo Pre 86, Rounds 5 & 6).

2017 E2 Champion Daniel Milner will be on the move on his KTM Enduro Racing team bike for season 2018 as he leaves the E2 class after his perfect season, and will compete in E3 this coming season. His teammate and E3 Champion Lyndon Snodgrass will swap places with Milner and move into the E2 class for the 2018 season.

Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Rider Wil Ruprecht is coming off a second championship-winning year after taking out EJ in 2016 and E1 in 2017. Ruprecht will be trying for a 3rd successive championship, although he is yet to confirm what class he will race in 2018.

After a dominant season in 2016 with AORC and a stint in the EnduroGP in 2017, 2018 will also see the return of Daniel ‘Chucky’ Sanders to the championship, which is a welcome return to AORC on his Husqvarna Factory Off-Road Racing Team bike.

To view the 2018 AORC Supplementary Regulations click here

Senior Championship Classes
E1: 100cc to 200cc 2-Stroke and 150cc to 250cc 4-Stroke
E2: 220cc to 250cc 2-Stroke and 275cc to 450cc 4-Stroke
E3: 290cc to 500cc 2-Stroke and 475cc to 650cc 4-Stroke
EJ: All powers (Rider must be 18 years or under on 1 January of the competition year. Machines may be of any capacity.)
Veterans: All Powers (Rider must be 35+ years of age before 1 January 2018)
Masters: All Powers (Rider must be 45+ years of age before 1 January 2018)
Women: All Powers

Junior Championship Classes
J2: 12-15 years 85cc 2-Stroke and up to 150cc 4-Stroke
J3: 13-14 years 125cc to 200cc 2-Stroke and 200cc to 250cc 4-Stroke
J4: 15 years 125cc to 200cc 2-Stroke and 200cc to 250cc 4-Stroke

Support Classes (*only at selected rounds)
125 Amateur Cup: 125cc 2-Stroke (*Round 5 & 6, Round 10 & 11)
Pony Express: All Powers (*Round 7 & Round 10 &11)
Vintage: Evo Pre 86 (*Round 5 & 6)

Round 1 & 2: Gympie, QLD                 10 – 11 March 2018
Round 3 & 4: Hedley, VIC                    5 – 6 May 2018
Round 5 & 6: Dungog, NSW                28 – 29 July 2018
Round 7: Broken Hill, NSW                  1 – 2 Sept 2018
Round 8 & 9: Stonefield, SA                 22 – 23 Sept 2018
Round 10 & 11: Omeo, VIC                  6 – 7 Oct 2018

Stay up to date in the lead up to the 2018 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the AORC website at or by following the AORC on Twitter and Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram.