News / Media
  • Home

AORC Juniors McMahon and Riordan Brothers Kick-Off the Season in Style

Korey McMahon has come from behind to take out the J4 class at Gympie, at the opening round of the Yamaha Australian Off Road Championship. Will Riordan took out the J3 class comfortably after a great days riding, and his brother Angus Riordan continued the winning ways in the J2 class. 

On a day that saw every condition possible on the bLU cRU track, the J4 class became a two-horse race between eventual winner McMahon and Kyron Bacon. The pair battled it out for much of the day before McMahon made his move in the final two heats to pull away to a 13 second victory. Jayden Rudd rounded out the podium in third position in a great first outing in the J4 class after winning the J3 title in 2017.

Riordan was on another level at Gympie in the J3 Class. He didn’t make a mistake all day to come away with the win. Taking on the technical circuit, Riordan showed off his class and sent a message to his competition for the coming season. Ned Chapman finished in second place and will take some positive momentum into Sundays racing, whilst Blake Hollis took the last step on the podium in third position.

After seeing his brother Will dominating the Gympie terrain, Angus wasn’t going to be left behind, as he won the J2 class. Riordan was the fastest man on track and showed the Riordan family mean business this season. Billy Hargy and Mackenzie Johnson completed the podium after a solid days riding.

The racing is back tomorrow starting at 8am, with all the juniors pushing to complete the weekend and set themselves up in the quest for their respective championships.

J4 Provisional Results:

  1. Korey McMahon 1:02:59.176
  2. Kyron Bacon 1:03:12.218
  3. Jayden Rudd 1:04:23.902
  4. Matt Waters 1:06:35.610
  5. Matthew Pye 1:07:01.779
  6. Raife Dooley 1:07:31.710
  7. Max Price 1:08:39.033
  8. Benjamin Harris 1:10:59.423
  9. Lyle Byrne 1:12:07.694
  10. Jared Watson 1:12:08.790

J3 Provisional Results:

  1. Will Riordan 1:03:55.412
  2. Ned Chapman 1:04:32.529
  3. Blake Hollis 1:05:08.748
  4. Benjamin Teed 1:08:50.926
  5. Jasper Franklin 1:08:55.228
  6. Sam Barton 1:09:49.616
  7. Oscar Collins 1:11:30.182
  8. Charlie Milton 1:12:20.877
  9. Maxwell Liebeknec 1:14:39.012
  10. Levii Read 1:14:42.051

J2 Provisional Results:

  1. Angus Riordan 1:05:39.554
  2. Billy Hargy 1:09:20.136
  3. Mackenzie Johnson 1:09:51.584
  4. Kade Conley 1:10:29.109
  5. William Dennett 1:11:46.301
  6. Max Phillips 1:12:34.800
  7. Zac Perry 1:12:39.139
  8. Harley Mystek 1:14:01.843
  9. Taj Gow-Smith 1:15:00.812
  10. William Cooper 1:16:15.694