News / Media
  • Home

Milesevic Claims Women’s First Win While Hutton And Stephens Make A Clean Sweep

Featured as the unforgiving landscape in Mad Max, Broken Hill washed all competitors in a fine red mist, pushing mind and body through unforgiving conditions. Across a 27 kilometre track, our Women’s, Veterans, Masters and Pony Express classes completed 6-8 laps over a gruelling three to four hours.

Although sweet victory was swallowed up by each and every competitor as they crossed the finish line, our Senior class victors for Round 7 of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) were Emma Milesevic (Honda RideRed), Lee Stephens, Kirk Hutton (Yamaha Motor Australia) and the dynamic duo that is Callum Dodimead and Joshua Knights.

If you were to hazard a guess as to who would win the three-hour Cross-Country race for our Women’s class, after the Prologue results, Milsevic’s name wouldn’t be your first pick. But win she did, pulling through after a difficult Prologue to clock in an immensely impressive total time of 2:44:03.902.

With a time that put plenty of other Senior competitors to shame, Milesevic left her competition in the literal dust. Second place today was stolen away by the defending Champion, Jess Gardiner (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off-Road Team) with a total time of 2:48:57.342. After a promising Prologue result, Emelie Karlsson (Yamaha) conceded for the third podium position, finishing today with a total time of 2:50:46.682.

Still coming to terms with her first class win in her first full AORC season, Milesevic explained that, “it was actually a really good day! I’ve never done a three-hour before but it went really smoothly and I didn’t make any mistakes, so I’m really happy with how it all went.”

2019 AORC Round 7 Women’s Top 5 Provisional Results:

  1. Emma Milesevic (Honda RideRed) 2:44:03.902
  2. Jess Gardiner (Yamaha MX Store Ballards Off-Road Team) 2:48:57.342
  3. Emelie Karlsson (Yamaha) 2:50:46.682
  4. Danielle Foot (Road & River Motorcycles, Sherco) 2:55:07.685
  5. Julie Denyer 2:56:34.000 (+2 laps)

Stephens was an unstoppable force today, using his prior desert racing experience to his advantage. Clocking in a total time of 3:41:44.266, Stephens took a well-deserved position in first, ahead of Christopher Thomas (Thomas Lee KTM) in second.

Third place was won by Jason Pearce, who finished Sunday’s racing with a total time of 3:39:25.314.

“I had a good clean run today. I have done a lot of desert racing in my time with Finke and Hattah which definitely helped,” confirmed Stephens.

“I don’t have a major game plan coming into this kind of race, but if you just keep consistent and focussed you always end up alright!”

2019 AORC Round 7 Veterans Top 5 Provisional Results:

  1. Lee Stephens 3:41:44.266
  2. Christopher Thomas (Thomas Lee KTM) 3:35:05.820 (+1 lap)
  3. Jason Pearce 3:39:25.314 (+1 lap)
  4. Luke Ablitt (Autosmart) 3:43:31.629 (+1 lap)
  5. Stephen Short 3:30:55.394 (+2 laps)

You wouldn’t have known it when you saw him fly by across the dusty, slippery track, but Broken Hill marked Hutton’s first desert Cross-Country race! True to form though, Hutton put his head down and flew right into first place for Masters, clocking in an impressive total time of 2:50:12.926.

Peter Rudd (Kessner Motorcycles) claimed second place today ahead of Duane Woolford (MotoAdelaide), with a total time of 2:53:00.036.

“The desert style racing is not my cup of tea, but I’m am really happy with how today went,” confirmed Hutton.

“Even though this style isn’t for me, I still put my all into my racing, and thankfully that reflected in today’s results.”

2019 AORC Round 7 Masters Top 4 Provisional Results:

  1. Kirk Hutton (Yamaha Motor Australia) 2:50:12.926
  2. Peter Rudd (Kessner Motorcycles) 2:53:00.036
  3. Duane Woolford (MotoAdelaide) 3:06:43.379
  4. Stephen Mathieson (SMW Hornsby) 2:52:41.108 (+1 lap)

Teamwork is everything, and our Pony Express class proved that fact without argument. Taking out the gold in first place today was Callum Dodimead and Joshua Knights with a total time of 3:38:28.401. Two laps behind in second place was Jason Milne and Mark Andrews, with a total time of 3:29:14.106.

The third and final podium position today was claimed by Jack Anderson and Keith Stanford, who clocked in with a total time of 3:36:59.732 (+2 laps).

2019 AORC Round 7 Pony Express Top 5 Provisional Results:

  1. Callum Dodimead / Joshua Knights 3:38:28.401
  2. Jason Milne / Mark Andrews 3:29:14.106 (+2 laps)
  3. Jack Anderson / Keith Stanford 3:36:59.732 (+2 laps)
  4. Gordon Lawrence / Timothy Rogers 3:18:28.020 (+3 laps)
  5. Mathew Beswick / Tyson Kent 3:25:58.456 (+3 laps)

Escaping the dirt that found its way into every nook and cranny, our Seniors now travel South to Coonalpyn, South Australia for Rounds 8 & 9 of the 2019 Championship, held from 31st August to 1st September. To learn more about the upcoming round, head to

Don’t miss a minute of the action of the 2019 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the AORC Website at, or by following the Yamaha AORC on Twitter and Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram. Don’t forget to download the Official AORC app via Team App. It’s as easy as download Team App and search ‘AORC’!

Images courtesy of John Pearson Media