News / Media
  • Home

Sanders, Milner, Styke and Driscoll reign Supreme at Hedley Supersprint

A tough 16km Supersprint faced the riders at Round 3 of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) and didn’t Daniel Sanders love the tough and dry conditions. Sanders was the fastest rider on the track on his way to clinching the E2 class win. Daniel Milner continues to make the jump to E3 with ease, taking the win, whilst Luke Styke continues to impress in his first enduro season picking up the E1 win. Reigning EJ Champion Michael Driscoll was back to his best and rightfully claimed the EJ honours.

Hedley produced rough and tough racing for our competitors and the ever-smooth Milner even found the conditions hard, but he showed his class to pull together and take the win. Milner put his KTM down on a few occasions throughout the three sprints, managing to compose himself and finish three minutes and thirty seconds clear of Lachlan Stanford. Stanford was a clear second on the day and was consistently behind Milner, but the Husqvarna rider just couldn’t reel him in. Andrew Wilksch finished the day with an impressive third Supersprint that saw him jump onto the podium, finishing with a time of 1:02:44.464.

Milner was happy to get the win but knows he has lots of improvement in him before tomorrow racing, “Today was a big struggle for me, I made a lot of mistakes and that cost me a lot of time throughout the day and in the end, cost me catching chucky. I spent too much time making stupid mistakes but its one of those days that you put behind you and try to focus on the positives and look forward to tomorrow,” said Milner.

Sanders was a man on a mission today at Hedley, getting off to the dream start and gapping the field in the first Supersprint by nine seconds despite a fall. Sanders continued to push and ride on the edge, it did result in a few get offs but the Husqvarna rider still managed to claim class honours. Lyndon Snodgrass battled hard on his KTM in the tough and dry conditions to finish in second and put the troubles he had at the A4DE behind him. Mr Consistent Josh Green once again put his Active8 Yamalube Yamaha on the podium, bouncing back from a big fall in the first Supersprint finish just 11 seconds behind Snodgrass.

Sanders enjoyed one of the tougher days of racing, “It was a tough day at the office that’s for sure, its great to get the class win again and be the fastest man on the track by just 0.3 seconds. It’s a great venue here at Hedley and I enjoyed the Supersprint as we got 19 minutes of full race intensity and its great getting more time on the bike,” finished Sanders.

It looks like we can stop calling Luke Styke a motocross convert, he is well and truly an enduro rider now after claiming his third round win in a row at Hedley. Styke started a bit slower than he would of liked with a few crashes in the first sprint, but he got better as the day went on and finished the Supersprints with a time of 1:01:06.410. Not far behind Styke was Fraser Higlett who is finding some serious form on his Husqvarna, despite a few falls he finished 50 seconds off Styke’s pace. Our 2016 E1 winner here at Hedley Jack Simpson rounded out the podium to continue his good form here. Simpson pushed his KTM to a time of 1:02:15.011 to finish just 15 seconds off Higlett.

It was business as usual for the defending EJ Champion Michael Driscoll as he put his Yamaha on the top step for the third time in as many rounds this season. Driscoll stepped back into the EJ class after an impressive performance at the A4DE in the E1 class and announced himself again as the man to beat. Mason Semmens bought with him all his motocross skills and finished the day in an impressive second place aboard his KTM. Joshua Brierley continues to impress aboard his Husqvarna machine, landing it on the podium and showing he enjoyed the tough conditions here at Hedley.

Driscoll is happy to be back at the top of the EJ class, “Yeah it was great to get another win in the class, the track was brutal with the soft sand dry conditions which made riding difficult for us all, I started the day well and just kept consistent and got the class win so now we look forward to tomorrow,” Said Driscoll.

AORC E3 Round 3 Provisional Results
1. Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Racing Team) 58:11.881
2. Lachlan Stanford (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) 1:01:49.704
3. Andrew Wilksch (Motul Pirelli Sherco Team) 1:02:44.464
4. Tom Mason 1:03:00.168
5. Broc Grabham 1:03:29.015
6. Jesse Lawton 1:04:51.078
7. Jamie Robins 1:05:51.728
8. Stuart Holt 1:06:31.733
9. Anthony Venn 1:08:49.877
10. Benjamin Russell 1:10:53.424

AORC E2 Round 3 Provisional Results
1. Daniel Sanders (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) 58:11.503
2. Lyndon Snodgrass (KTM Enduro Racing Team) 1:00:20.824
3. Joshua Green (Active8 Yamalube Yamaha) 1:00:31.800
4. Stefan Granquist 1:03:05.244
5. Riley Graham 1:04:04.819
6. Josh major 1:06:26.078
7. Matt van Slooten 1:06:48.848
8. Jens Emil Viktor Hillgren 1:06:49.017
9. Matt Murry 1:07:03.802
10. Liam Mason 1:07:24.819

AORC E1 Round 3 Provisional Results
1. Luke Styke (Active8 Yamalube Yamaha) 1:01:06.410
2. Fraser Higlett (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) 1:02:01.391
3. Jack Simpson 1:02:15.011
4. Nicolas Tomlinson 1:02:53.265
5. Tomas Ravenhorst 1:03:12.118
6. Jeremy Carpentier (Yamaha MX Store Ballard’s Off-Road Team) 1:03:42.029
7. Baylee Davies 1:05:05.633
8. Brad Hardaker 1:06:16.804
9. Peter-Daniel Allan 1:06:22.187
10. Bayley Burt 1:06:43.319

AORC EJ Round 3 Provisional Results
1. Michael Driscoll (bLu cRu Yamaha Racing) 1:02:04.435
2. Mason Semmens 1:02:59.241
3. Joshua Brierley 1:04:44.581
4. Mitchell Brierley 1:06:00.915
5. Corey Hammond 1:06:07.508
6. Lachlan Allan 1:07:11.844
7. Harrison Teed 1:07:45.700
8. Cooper Sheidow 1:08:38.338
9. Dalton Johnson 1:08:43.034
10. Nick Graham 1:08:57.540

Stay up to date with all the happenings of the 2018 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship by visiting the brand new AORC website at by following the AORC on Facebook as well as @aorc on Instagram.

Photos courtesy of John Pearson Media